Banner image


James Crawley


Posted Tuesday, January 14th 2020

Preview: Shrewsbury Town (A)

City travel to the Montgomery Waters Meadow Stadium this evening for the Emirates FA Cup third round replay.

Shrewsbury Town battled back at Ashton Gate after Famara Diédhiou had headed City into a half-time lead.

And up for grabs in the fourth round is a home tie against the European champions Liverpool, making the trip to Shropshire all that little more mouth-watering.


  • Date: Tuesday, January 14th 2020
  • Kick-off: 7.45pm
  • Competition: Emirates FA Cup
  • Where: Montgomery Waters Meadow
  • Officials: David Webb (referee), Sam Lewis and Akil Howson (assistants), Josh Smith (fourth official)


Bristol City v Shrewsbury Town:
W: 15 (45%)
D: 7
L: 11


FORM - Last five games:
Bristol City: LWLD*W (*FA Cup)
Shrewsbury: LDD*LD (*FA Cup)

Club news

Word from the camp

Lee Johnson has confirmed City will be well prepared for tomorrow night’s Emirates FA Cup third round replay.

We know the prize,” Johnson said. “We want it for the fans, we want to be successful for the fans."

Read his pre-match interview here.

Last time out

Bristol City 1-1 Shrewsbury Town
Saturday, January 4th 2020
Emirates FA Cup, third round
Ashton Gate
Scorer: Diédhiou, 30
Att: 9,730

Famara Diédhiou’s first-half header would be cancelled out to take City and Shrewsbury Town's Emirates FA Cup third round tie to a replay in Shropshire.

After a slow start, Diédhiou headed in from a Niclas Eliasson cross - the winger's 11th assist of the campaign - after half an hour as a much-changed City side ended the opening 45 minutes on top at Ashton Gate.

They could have gone further ahead but for Kasey Palmer who was twice denied by the Shrews keeper and the visitors levelled soon after the interval, when Sean Goss rifled home in front of the travelling fans.

Town hit the woodwork as City held on, though substitute Andreas Weimann impressed with his energy but couldn’t find the target.

Read the full report.

Bristol City XI: Mäenpää, Moore, Dasilva, Kalas, Pedro Pereira, Ádám Nagy, Massengo, Eliasson, Palmer, Watkins, Diédhiou